What Are Non-Exertional Requirement Classifications?

Jobs demands not related to strength are considered non-exertional

hands typing on black keyboard

The Social Security Administration (SSA) uses both exertional and non-exertional limitations to determine whether or not an applicant is disabled under their rules. Exertional requirements are strength related and include ability to lift, sit, stand, walk, hold, push, and pull. All other requirements are classified as non-exertional.

The following is a list of work-related responsibilities considered non-exertional:
  • Understanding and remembering details and instructions
  • Tolerating environmental factors (noise, temperatures, dust, fumes)
  • Stooping, climbing, crawling, crouching, reaching, bending
  • Functioning while nervous, anxious, and/or depressed
  • Seeing, hearing, speaking
  • Manipulating hands and fingers
  • Paying attention, concentrating

If you are unable to perform one or more of these responsibilities, you may be eligible to receive Social Security Disability (SSDI or SSI) benefits. Your medical records and Residual Functional Capacity (RFC) assessments will be used to determine your eligibility.

Contact us now to discuss your disability case and how your non-exertional limitations are affecting your ability to work. We are here to help!

Share via:


If you need disability benefits, hire Quikaid now. You will not regret it. We will do everything possible to get your claim approved. Sign our contract now online, or fill out our Free Case Evaluation, so we can start the process of getting you approved for benefits! You have nothing to lose, and everything to gain.
The time to get started is NOW!

Hire America's Disability Experts® Now