Do All States Follow The Same Disability Appeal Process?

Social Security Disability is a nationwide program and aside from reconsideration skip states, appeals do not vary state to state

The Social Security Administration (SSA) utilizes the Program Operations Manual System (POMS) to process claims for Social Security benefits. This manual includes in depth information regarding processes and procedures for operations regarding Social Security disability benefits and contains the overarching rules and guidelines for disability processes.

Skip States

With the exception of 10 states that do not currently provide a Reconsideration appeal, the disability appeal process is the same across the country.

SSA has eliminated the Reconsideration phase in the following “Skip States”:

• Alabama
• Alaska
• California (Los Angeles North and Los Angeles West Branches only)
• Colorado
• Louisiana
• Michigan
• Missouri
• New Hampshire
• New York
• Pennsylvania

If you file an appeal to your initial disability application denial in the above ten states, your appeal will become your request for a Hearing.

Regardless of what state you are currently living in, we can help you with your disability claim. Call now for a free case evaluation!


If you need disability benefits, hire Quikaid now. You will not regret it. We will do everything possible to get your claim approved. Sign our contract now online so we can start the process of getting you approved for benefits! You have nothing to lose, and everything to gain. The time to get started is NOW!

Hire America's Disability Experts® Now